Prairie Evers

Prairie Evers

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
5
1
Rate this:
This charming, coming-of-age story is perfect for fans of Joan Bauer and Sheila Turnage.

Prairie Evers is finding that school isn't all it's cracked up to be. She's always been homeschooled by her grandmother, learning about life while they ramble through the woods. But now Prairie's family has moved north and she has to attend school for the first time, where her education is in a classroom and the behavior of her classmates isn't very nice. The only good thing is meeting Ivy, her first true friend. Prairie wants to be a good friend, even though she can be clueless at times. But when Ivy's world is about to fall apart and she needs a friend most, Prairie is right there for her, corralling all her optimism and determination to hatch a plan to help.

Wonderful writing and an engaging narrator distinguish this lively story that celebrates friendship of every kind.
Publisher: New York, New York : Puffin Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), 2014.
Copyright Date: ©2012
ISBN: 9780142426685
0142426687
Branch Call Number: AIRGO
Characteristics: 215 pages ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

n
nelljean
Aug 28, 2017

Nice little book. The family gets along well. There is a mention of a mom shooting a dad in self defense. It is handled well.

c
ckaldahl
Jul 02, 2017

Library should purchase since you have the sequel called "The Education of Ivy Blake".

s
superreader64
Aug 28, 2016

What a delightful story!

g
greenacres
Mar 29, 2015

The Ever's family has a lot of love to share and thank goodness it does, for Ivy's sake. Wonderful, endearing characters; a feel-good read. It reminded me of one of my all-time favourite books Ida B.

j
jenny270
Aug 02, 2013

Thyis book was really good! I liked the way the author wrote. I especially liked the part about chickens, very funny! :)

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

o
olive_dove_40
May 17, 2015

olive_dove_40 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JMS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top