Rashomon and Seventeen Other Stories

Rashomon and Seventeen Other Stories

eBook - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:
RyÜnosuke Akutagawa (1892-1927) is one of Japan's foremost stylists - a modernist master whose short stories are marked by highly original imagery, cynicism, beauty and wild humour. 'RashÖmon' and 'In a Bamboo Grove' inspired Kurosawa's magnificent film and depict a past in which morality is turned upside down, while tales such as 'The Nose', 'O-Gin' and 'Loyalty' paint a rich and imaginative picture of a medieval Japan peopled by Shoguns and priests, vagrants and peasants. And in later works such as 'Death Register', 'The Life of a Stupid Man' and 'Spinning Gears', Akutagawa drew from his own life to devastating effect, revealing his intense melancholy and terror of madness in exquisitely moving impressionistic stories.
Publisher: London : Penguin Books Ltd., 2007.
ISBN: 9780141902876
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 electronic text.
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

theorbys Jun 01, 2012

One of Japan's finest, most tragic writers. This is a remarkable collection of short stories and unfortunately about as much as you can find in English by Akutagawa. The first two, Rashomon and In A Bamboo Grove, were the basis of Kurosawa's film, Rashomon. Spinning Gears is a hallucinatory, autobiographical record of a mind spinning into madness and suicide.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at JMS

To Top