In A Strange Room

In A Strange Room

Three Journeys

eBook - 2010
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
For readers of Ian McEwan, Paul Auster, and J.M. Coetzee, In a Strange Room is the intricate, psychologically intense, and deeply personal book of fiction from the internationally acclaimed, Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of The Good Doctor .

A young man named Damon takes three journeys, through Greece, India, and Africa. To those who travel with him and those whom he meets on the way -- including a handsome enigmatic stranger, a group of careless backpackers, and a woman on the edge -- he is the Follower, the Lover, and the Guardian. Yet, despite the man's best intentions, each journey ends in disaster. Together, these three journeys will change his whole life.

A book of longing and thwarted desire, rage and compassion, In a Strange Room is the hauntingly beautiful evocation of one man's search for love and a place to call home.


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Publisher: [Toronto] : McClelland & Stewart, 2010.
ISBN: 9780771035982
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 electronic text.
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

debwalker Jan 04, 2011

Chosen by Karen Solie as book of the year: "Galgut's novel is a fiction that reads as, at least, heavily influenced by autobiography. The protagonist is called Damon. He is South African. It's written in a point of view that shifts between the third and first person, sometimes in the same sentence. But rather than coming off as gimmicky or prodding the reader with a concept, this strategy feels eerily faithful to the act of remembering the self. I was a different person then, we say. And also: It's like it was yesterday. It's like it's happening all over again.

"In A Strange Room addresses a preoccupation I share: with travel minus agenda, sometimes spontaneous, often ill-conceived (though the travel of the novel is ambitious and accomplished largely on foot), and how inside it is the recognition that, though it feels like need, such travel is a luxury, an indulgence which might be medicating a poverty of spirit. The novel's three sections are different journeys through thinking as well as geography. They are also lessons in narrative momentum. Galgut's sentences are active, declarative, each a step forward, relentless as time, each paragraph a scene in transit, their clarity and richness enacting an attention paid to the world in its passing, in our passing through it; to those faces, scenes, the ideas that stick, that shine out of memory and become indicative, symbolic. He is one of those writers whose humour emerges in a habit of creating syntax, turns of phrase, sentences that are almost absurdly accurate to what they describe. Like the other books I might have chosen, its willingness to take some risks (did I mention it's written in the present tense?) puts me in mind of lines from Robert Hass's poem Berkely Eclogue: “You'll never catch a fish/ that way, you said. One caught a fish that way.” "

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JMS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top