Moto Hagio's A Drunken Dream and Other Stories

Moto Hagio's A Drunken Dream and Other Stories

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A selection of short stories spanning four decades of groundbreaking work, 1971-2007, by an artist who is working at the peak of her creative powers. In “Autumn Journey” (1971), a boy's pilgrimage to the home of his favorite author has more meaning than either the author or his daughter can imagine. In “Marié, Ten Years Later” (1977), two estranged friends learn too late how their actions had destroyed the balance of a perfect triad of intimacy. In “A Drunken Dream” (1980), two scientists, one a hermaphrodite, the other a tribal priest, meet on a space station; but they have met before and are destined to meet again. In “Iguana Girl” (1991), a girl who appears to her mother and herself to be a hideous anthropoid iguana struggles to overcome her mother's rejection and find happiness, but her mother has a secret.
Publisher: Seattle, Wash. : Fantagraphics ; London : Turnaround [distributor], 2010.
ISBN: 9781606993774
Branch Call Number: HAGIO
Characteristics: 256, xxix p. : chiefly ill. (some col.) ; 26 cm.
Alternative Title: Drunken dream and other stories


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Feb 25, 2018

This book is a collection of Moto Hagio's better known short stories. Moto Hagio is an instrumental figure in the Japanese "woman's comics" movement. Her stories tend to focus on darker emotions, often those of feeling "not pretty enough" or otherwise inadequate when compared to other women. Some of these stories date back to the 1970's so the art feels a bit dated. *Iguana Girl* was my favorite story in this collection.

leah_p Jul 11, 2013

This anthology of Moto Hagio's pioneering work in shojo manga is well worth the read, however, some stories feel like they are bigger than the pages allotted to them (A Drunken Dream) and so come off as overly sentimental or obvious (Bianca). What may contribute to that feeling is the translation into English; often the essence of some phrases or words cannot be adequately translated. Nevertheless, this is a great read.

debwalker Dec 08, 2010

This 10-story anthology shifts from young romance to supernatural mystery to kitchen-sink drama, so there will probably be a touchstone tale for everyone. “Iguana Girl” — about two sisters, one human and one reptilian — is oddly appealing and surprisingly bittersweet. And its message about acceptance is subtle, not saccharine. The stories are black and white, save for the science-fiction tale “A Drunken Dream,” which is rendered in muted watercolors.


Add a Summary

Jan 15, 2012

Forty years ago, the legendary manga artist Moto Hagio reinvented the shoujo (girl's comics) genre with an ongoing series of whipsmart, psychologically complex, and tenderly poetic stories. Here now, in English for the very first time, as the debut release in Fantagraphics Books' ambitious manga line of graphic novels, are ten of the very best of these tales.

The work in "A Drunken Dream and Other Stories" spans Hagio's entire career, from 1970's "Bianca" to 2007's "The Willow Tree," and includes the mind-bending full-colour title story; the famously heartbreaking "Iguana Girl"; and the haunting "The Child Who Comes Home" - as well as "Autumn Journey," "Girl on the Porch with Puppy," the eerie conjoined-twins shocker "Hanshin: Half God,"Angel Mimic," and one of the saddest of all romance stories, "Marie, Ten Years Later."

"A Drunken Dream and Oyher Stories" is supplemented with a feature-length interview with Hagio, where she discusses her art, her career, and her life with the same combination of wit, candor, and warmth that radiates from every panel of her comics.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at JMS

To Top