Star Wars

Star Wars

The Clone Wars : Wild Space

Audiobook CD - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
The Clone Wars have exploded across the galaxy as Republic forces and Separatists struggle to gain the upper hand. But while the Jedi generals work tirelessly to defeat Count Dooku and his rebels, Supreme Chancellor Palpatine is hatching his own dark plans. The Separatists have launched a sneak attack on Coruscant. Obi-Wan Kenobi, wounded in battle insists that Anakin Skywalker and his rookie Padawan Ahsoka leave on a risky mission against General Grievous. But when Senator Bail Organa reveals explosive intelligence that could turn the tide of war in the Republic's favor, the Jedi Master agrees to accompany him to an obscure planet on the Outer Rim to verify the facts. What Obi-Wan and Bail don't realize is that they're walking into a deadly trap concocted by Palpatine... and that escape may not be an option. Inspired by the full-length animated feature film Star Wars: The Clone Wars and the brand-new television series this thrilling adventure is filled with provocative never-before-revealed insights into the characters of Obi-Wan, Anakin, Padmé, Yoda, Count Dooku, and many other Star Wars favorites.
Publisher: New York : Random House Audio ; Holland, Ohio : repackaged by Midwest Tape, p2008.
ISBN: 9780739376874
073937687X
Branch Call Number: MILLE
Characteristics: 10 sound discs (12 hr.) : digital, Dolby processed ; 4 3/4 in.
Additional Contributors: Lucasfilm, Ltd
Alternative Title: Clone wars : wild space
Wild space

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mexicanadiense
Nov 22, 2015

Kind of a weird book, for the Star Wars oeuvre, much more Man vs. Nature and Himself than epic battles versus droid armies or Sith Lords.

Obi Wan grudgingly accepts to go on a vital reconnaissance mission with Bail Organa, a Republic Senator with whom he's never had many dealings and whom he views with distrust as a privileged, career politician.

The two get on each others' nerves immediately and amusingly, a situation exacerbated by having to share a small starship to maintain a low profile. Think of it as Planes, Trains and Automobiles...in space!

The final third of the book was a bit of a slog as the intrepid duo find themselves stranded in hostile territory, needing to build new courage and respect for each other in order to find an unlikely way home.

I would recommend this for anyone who is a fan of the Jedi, and of Kenobi in particular, as it delves far deeper than most SW books into his interior life and motivations, and how he relates to the Living Force.

Fans of Anakin, Ahsoka, et al. beware: they appear ever so briefly on the margins, mostly just to help tie the main story of Obi Wan and Bail into the broader continuity of the Clone Wars television series.

b
BlondieBear
Jul 07, 2011

I liked the book. I'd give it 5 stars, if it didn't have a huge gaffe.

I find it impossible for a senator (Bail Organa) to have no clue what the Sith were. And another Senator (Amidala) knowing about them only from her personal encounter with Darth Maul in the past.

5000 years BBY the Sith Empire owned half the Galaxy and started a war with the other half. 1000 years BBY the Jedi order managed to eliminate the Sith in the final battle of Ruusan (except for Darth Bane and the future Darth Zannah), but almost all the Jedi died too.

This sort of thing would be in the history books, even at an elementary level, and you'd expect senators to read a bit. We know a lot about the Roman Empire today, for example, and we didn't even have any advanced recording technologies 2000 years ago. The Star Wars Galaxy of 5000 BBY would have had HDTV at least, since they had hyperspace travel and laser weapons.

Summary

Add a Summary
t
tkasvand
Feb 08, 2013

This was a poorly written example of an author too exuberant on expressing every detail of a Jedi and a Senator's emotions, their thoughts, the details of their situation. Verbs and adjectives were horribly beaten to death in the name of dragging on a story.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Related Authors

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JMS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top