The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted

The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
It is 1968 in rural Australia and lonely Tom Hope can't make heads or tails of Hannah Babel. Newly arrived from Hungary, Hannah is unlike anyone he's ever met—she's passionate, brilliant, and fiercely determined to open sleepy Hometown's first bookshop. Despite the fact that Tom has only read only one book in his life, when Hannah hires him to install shelving for the shop, the two discover an astonishing spark. Recently abandoned by an unfaithful wife—and still missing her sweet son, Peter—Tom dares to believe that he might make Hannah happy. But Hannah is a haunted woman. Twenty-four years earlier, she had been marched to the gates of Auschwitz.
Publisher: [Toronto] : Penguin, 2019.
ISBN: 9780735236776
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource (293 pages)
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From Library Staff

A gorgeously written, tender, and wise novel about love and forgiveness in 1960s Australia, in which a lonely farmer finds his life turned upside down by the arrival of a vibrant librarian. Perfect for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Light Between Oceans, The Bookshop of the Broken Hear... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
MB_kcls
Jun 09, 2019

It seemed to take a long time to get to the meat of 'The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted', with little clue as to where it was going, BUT the title absolutely captures the theme.

'The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted' is about surviving unimaginable heartbreak, fear of it happening again and finding courage in love, courage to love, courage to be where you should. It is exceptionally well written with honest descriptions of people, emotions and places, sometime beautiful, sometimes realistically awful and yes, sometimes heartbreaking.

k
kvb7
Jun 01, 2019

Although there was some unfamiliar Australian jargon to interpret, I read this book straight though. The hero is such a good and gentle person that one can only wish him good things.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JMS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top