Words on Bathroom Walls

Words on Bathroom Walls

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It's Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut. Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren't there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who's unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can't. Still, there's hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret."Echoing the premise and structure of Flowers for Algernon, this frank and inspiring novel shows how a teen's life changes after he is given an experimental medication to treat symptoms of schizophrenia."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW "A brutal, beautiful book that sits right beside The Perks of Being a Wallflower and I'll Give You the Sun." —Jennifer Longo, author of Up to This Pointe"This book reminds me of A Monster Calls. I saved the final twenty pages for the next day because I didn't want Adam's story to end."—Peter Brown Hoffmeister, author of This Is the Part Where You Laugh"Walton has crafted a character with unparalleled likability, a boy whose endearing, witty, introspective commentary allows readers to get inside the head of a person with a debilitating mental illness. . . . Highly recommended."—SLJ"I loved it more than anything I've ever read. I LOVE THIS BOOK AND EVERYONE EVER SHOULD READ IT BECAUSE IT IS AMAZING AND BEAUTIFUL AND PUTS YOUR PROBLEMS IN PERSPECTIVE!!!!!!!"—Camille P., 12
Publisher: 2017.
ISBN: 9780399550904
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton, is a great book in which its conflict and characters overshadows its familiar story. This book stars a schizophrenic teen named Adam who goes to St. Agatha’s High School, where he meets a girl named Maya, whom he saved from drowning and starts a relationship with. Adam doesn’t want to reveal his mental illness to Maya, because he’s scared that secret would hurt her relationship with him, and tries to cover it up. First, what I dislike about the book is that its story has been similar to what has been done before, with the protagonist wanting to keep a secret from close ones at all costs. However, I liked the drive behind it: Adam just wants to be known as a normal kid. I like that Adam himself is a complex, but likeable character; he likes making people happy and does noble deeds, but he makes mistakes from time to time as well. The conflict Adam has with himself, over keeping his mental illness a secret is well-written and the people Adam hallucinates and interacts with as a symbol throughout the book represent Adam’s thoughts and feelings, adding to the conflict. The side-conflict Adam and his friends have with the antagonist, Ian, is interesting as well, with his ulterior motives being revealed through actions and hidden meanings in his words. I recommend this book to anyone willing to overlook the formulaic story to be hooked by the character drama.

- A.M.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at JMS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top